Caleb Cox

Colombia: Medellin

So far I've been in Colombia for two months and it has been fun yet challenging. I have not traveled this extensively since 2015 when I went to Europe. It's nice that I get to practice my Spanish but it can feel pretty isolating. This, however, is nothing new to people I've met in the US who speak English as a second or third language.

Practical Things to Know

Medellin:

  • There are 2 seasons: dry and rainy. I'm here in March and it's the beginning of the rainy season. Typically people like to visit in December.
  • The international airport is in a neighboring city and an Uber is about 30 min but also pretty affordable. You'll be driving through the longest tunnel in South America to get to Medellin.
  • The metro is easy to use and you pay for how many times you want to use it. This is paid in cash at a station and you have to pay a little extra for a metro card.

My next stop is in Cartagena which is on the north coast. I'll be there for two weeks and then head to Santiago, Chile! A friend of mine says I'm going to lose all the Spanish I learn in Colombia when I get there because their dialect is so different.